10 days chicks for my chicken farm

Catherine Rimui

Nakuru, Kenya

100% repaid



Catherine Rimui

Member since

March 2021

On-time repayments

65 installments  •  69%

About Me


My name is Catherine Wanjiku Rimui. I am a Kenyan national, currently resident in Nakuru County, within the larger Rift valley province, Kenya.

I am married to Mr. David Wanjohi and we have 4 children and one grandchild. Super exciting.

I am currently not employed, and it is only my husband who has been supporting the family, which can be difficult. I would therefore like to contribute and help my husband in meeting the needs of our family.

I have been doing kitchen gardening, leaning towards vegetables for subsistence use, and that has assisted in some of our expenses, where food and nutrition are involved.

Recently I have developed an interest in poultry rearing, and while I now have 10 chickens, I am looking to expand my brood and in the process make it an income-generating prospect.

I am excited to start this phase of my life, seeing that at my age, formal employment is off the table. I would be happy to apply my time and strength to this project, and with your help, I will be able to contribute to raising our family.

I am a firstborn to my parents, and I hail from a polygamous setting, meaning I have very many brothers and Sisters. Almost 20 in number! Our family reunions are therefore usually full of fun and laughter, as is typical with large gatherings, it's literally a clan.

I am therefore happy to be incorporated into the Zidisha family, which is global, and founded on principles of kindness, generosity, trust, and confidence. We are indeed each other's keepers, and that is humbling. I remain entirely grateful.
Looking forward to walking this journey together.

My Business

Hello again,

I am looking to expand my chicken rearing project starting with broiler chicken to sell chicken meat, and later expand to incorporate layers.

Later on, with proper equipment, I will also be able to sell chicks to other persons involved in poultry farming to rear for meat and eggs.

I will need to build chicken houses, buy chicken food, ensure there's medicine at hand, and feeding/watering equipment.

There will also be a need for a thermostat to regulate and maintain viable temperatures for hatching chicks.

Loan Proposal


I intend to buy 30, 10 days old chicks, to kickstart my project.

I will rear the same to maturity whereafter I can sell the same. I intend to stary with broilers purely for meat, layer I could expand into rearing layers as well.

I will buy the 30 chicks at KES 100 per chick, and the remaining KES 2700 will go towards the feeding of the chicks.

Income Source


I believe I will be able to meet my repayments because currently have about 10 full-grown chickens that when no other alternatives are available can be sold so as to realize the loan funds.

Secondly, my husband is employed full time, and the income though meager, can be squeezed to meet our needs and also meet our repayment obligations.

Thank you.





Loan Info

Project Type

Classic Loan

Disbursed amount


Date disbursed

Mar 11, 2021

Repayment status

On Time

Projected term

6 weeks

Cost to entrepreneur

Service fee: $2.40

Credit risk payment: $6.73


Paul Buchheit

Mountain View, United States

Ask Catherine a question about this loan project, share news and photos of your own, or send a simple note of thanks or inspiration.



Amount repaid


Amount remaining


Date repaid

Apr 16, 2021


Fully repaid

Repayment History

Expected Payments Actual Payments
Mar 21, 2021 $8.55 Mar 14, 2021 $8.55
Mar 28, 2021 $8.55 Mar 14, 2021 $0.13
Mar 22, 2021 $8.42
Apr 4, 2021 $8.55 Mar 22, 2021 $0.18
Mar 28, 2021 $8.37
Apr 11, 2021 $8.55 Mar 28, 2021 $0.22
Apr 4, 2021 $8.33
Apr 18, 2021 $8.55 Apr 4, 2021 $0.27
Apr 12, 2021 $8.28
Apr 25, 2021 $8.55 Apr 12, 2021 $0.31
Apr 16, 2021 $8.24