Potatoes, carrots, vegetables and onions for green grocery

Graceann Kimaru

Nairobi, Kenya

100% repaid

Entrepreneur

Name

Graceann Kimaru

Member since

January 2017

On-time repayments

168 installments  •  94%

About Me

I am a first born in a family of seven children. Being a first born from a humble family, I had the responsibility of looking after my siblings as my parents went to work in coffee farms. I missed school my times to take care of house chores and lack of school fees.
To support my siblings and pay my school fees, I started selling green vegetables, making baskets and cooking chapatis for sale. I spent any free time during the day and evenings to study and I managed to do well in my studies both in primary and proceeded to secondary school and passed well. Through the businesses I was doing, I managed to take a course in dress making which helped to get a casual job in a dress making shop. From my wages, I saved money to start a food kiosk. Earnings from this kiosk has helped raise my three children, two boys and one girl.

My Business

I run a food kiosk where I sell foodstuffs such as madodo, mandathi, chapati, tea , githeri at mikimo to bodaboda operators, hawkers and workers at construction sites. There are a lot of people who are constructing new buildings as well as renovating old buildings thus employing a large number of casual labourers whom are my customers and I will be providing their meals like breakfast, lunch and 4 o'clock tea. I choose this business out of interest in cooking and providing services to people. Slot of expenses are on ingredients such as maize, beans, wheat flour, sugar, milk, potatoes, water, electricity, charcoal and house rent. My production and marketing cost is currently 65% of total sales and profits is 35%. I reinvest 60% of profit , 20% of profit goes to paying school fees and the other 20% goes to home improvement.

Loan Proposal

I want to buy 2 sacks of potatoes costing 40$,
1 bag of carrots @ 30$,
100 pieces of cabbage costing 20$
Kales for 20$ and onions for 20$.
This business will create market for small scale farmers around the Shopping Centre and will make my customers access food stuff conveniently. With this stock, I will be able to make profit of 25$ per week
By diversifying my business, my income will increase thus enabling me to pay school fees for my children and meet the basic needs of my family promptly and effectively.

Feedback

1

None

None

  • Mary    Apr 26, 2017

    Wonderful Borrower. I would gladly help fund another loan for Graceann!!

    Log in to reply • Share


Loading...

Loan Info

Project Type

Classic Loan

Disbursed amount

$122.38

Date disbursed

Feb 1, 2018

Repayment status

On Time

Projected term

5 months

Cost to entrepreneur

Service fee: $5.15

Lenders

JA

Jorge Alagon

Munich, Germany

Daniel Hammarberg

Gothenburg, Sweden

Dennis L

Berlin, Germany

Michael Bauschke

Dresden, Germany

The Krugers

NY NY, United States

Ask Graceann a question about this loan project, share news and photos of your own, or send a simple note of thanks or inspiration.

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...