Textbook purchase


Nairobi, Kenya

100% paid forward




Member since

January 2020

On-time repayments

29 installments  •  66%

About Me

My names are Duncan Okoth Otieno, Born in Nairobi Kenya. I am a 31-year-old male.
My childhood was rough, coming from a family of six kids, 3 girls and 3 boys, unfortunately, I lost my elder sister and my twin brother, leaving me with one brother and two sisters. Death struck again and I lost my father at the age of 9 and then I lost my mum at the age of 14.

The death of my parents shook my academic path, It forced my brother to work hard to pay my fee with a lot of challenges since my two sisters were jobless at that time and he was the sole breadwinner. By God's grace, I managed to finish high school but never joined college due to a lack of fees. This forced me to start looking for odd jobs to do so as I could save some money and take myself to college.

I managed to get a job as a gym caretaker at one of my uncle's gyms, where I was being paid Ksh 200 per month, I had to divide the money, Ksh 150 was my saving and Ksh 50 was for my up keep. I worked for my uncle for two years and managed to save Ksh 3,600.

I managed to leave my uncle's gym and enrolled myself at a local college and took a short course called quick books and sage which took 3 months after seeking a loan of Ksh1,400 from my sister. After finishing the course I managed to land a job at mac fry cafe 6 months later as a kitchen steward where I was being paid Ksh4,000 and with that, I managed to save enough money to take myself to driving school and also applied for a traveling passport since I believed that for my dream to be achieved I had to aim high and keep trusting on God that he will open gates for me.

By Gods grace, I managed to land a job at a cyber where I was being paid Ksh12,000 and then a few years later I managed to get a job at Westlands at microfinance as a field officer and I worked so hard and God helped me to get promotion from field officer to business development manager to branch manager.

By God's grace, I found an opening to apply for a job in Qatar as a security officer. I was shortlisted and went for two years to Qatar and worked as a security officer where I was being paid $400(Ksh40,000) per month. I saved well and managed to start a business with my big brother, where we deal with laptops, printers, and other office stationary equipment's and we have employed one person.

Currently, I am married and don't have kids, since I am working on stabilizing my finances through Gods grace I trust and believe I will get an investor who will come and join me in creating employment opportunities for others by investing in my vision and dreams

My Business

My business deals with selling laptops, printers, photocopy machines, and repair of damaged laptops and CPUs, TFTs, etc.

The reason why I chose this business is that most students need laptops for their academic work and even those in the cooperate world work with laptops a lot since the old days of using CPU is not welcomed as much.

The cost of a laptop ranges from Ksh 20,000-Ksh 35,000 if it's second hand and the new one costs around Ksh68,000-Ksh 100,000.

I mostly use the profit to expand the business by outsourcing what is not available in the market which clients keep asking about and also by helping the less fortunate in the society which is part of supporting the work of God.

Project Proposal

It's back to school month, and I am back raising funds, coz I noticed I am short on cash and I need to purchase extra books and also shopping that will last her throughout the first term... The money will go straight to the purchase of school personal basic needs and also extra textbooks, ruler and box of pen and pencils...





Project Info

Project Type

Pay It Forward

Disbursed amount


Date disbursed

Jan 10, 2023






Kitale, Kenya


Bondo, Kenya



United States

Ask Duncan a question about this project, share news and photos of your own, or send a simple note of thanks or inspiration.