Art and craft

Evans Okoyo

Nairrobi, Kenya

66% repaid

Entrepreneur

Name

Evans Okoyo

Member since

November 2014

On-time repayments

80 installments  •  28%

About Me

I am the sixth born in the family of 9, I was born in the year 1980, I went to school at Indangalasia primary school, I joined class one in the year 1991 and did my K.C.P.E in 1999. From there I joined form one at Bukolwe secondary school of which due to lack of school fees i dropped out of school in the same year (2000). from there I went back home and helped parents in farming for a period of one year. In the year 2002, I came to Nairobi in search of any job, it is here that i landed in the good hands of my friends whom we trained together in doing arts, mainly painting, curving and moulding.
It took me two years to learn and to begin doing what could at least attract my buyers, this is now what took me into business aspect. I got married in the year 2008 to a lady named, Peninah Anyango we have two children, Mary Jenipher and Eniola Cecilia aged 4 and 1 and half years respectively, All my wife's and my two children's needs, I am the one taking care of.

My Business

My business is situated in Huruma, I began doing this work on my own in the year 2004, from there I have been going through all the challenges that come together with it, I have also learnt a lot in the process of doing this business the major challenges that I've gone through are as follows, introducing new items in the market especially when you know the product is good for the market at that season, you have to persist until the buyers perceive and get attracted with the products, the other challenge is the middle men who get our items at a cheaper price and sell them at a price three times what they've given us, lastly financial challenge, sometimes i receive orders and i do not have money to buy raw materials to do the work hence giving middle men an advantage to cash for this shortcoming. Despite all these challenges from this job, i manage to pay my House rent, buy food and also one of my kids i pay for her school fees, my earning is currently less than Kshs 10000, which is approximately $112 per month. I therefore believe that given chance by zidisha to grow my business, I will do my best to improve in my production.

Loan Proposal

Presently i have an urgent order of 100 coat hangers-30 zebra design, 10 cheetah design,10 lion design,30 giraffe design, 15 elephant design and 5 rhino design; 90 pen holders- 25 giraffe type, 15 cheetah type, 30 zebra type, 20 lion type; 50 candle holders- 15 zebra type, 15 giraffe type, 10 hippo type, 10 elephant type. I have started the process of making coat hangers the zebra design so this loan will boost me to buy the remaining coat hangers and pen holders and candle holders. In addition, i also want to purchase filler-5kgs, different colour paints, wire-5kgs, metal-6kgs and since it's going to be a lot of work, i will need to fetch more labourers so i will pay them. All these will round up to a very good income because i will catch with time for the customers in question and so they will also save time for my plans.

Feedback

None

None

None

Loan Info

Project Type

Classic Loan

Disbursed amount

$109.29

Date disbursed

May 27, 2015

Repayment status

Late

Projected term

14 months

Cost to entrepreneur

Service fee: $4.31

Lenders

G

GalantnostS

Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Feldborg

Stuttgart, Germany

fairspirit

Utrecht, Netherlands

D

doroncoh

Tel Aviv, Israel

Evan Lamos

Brussels, Belgium

L

luckiestmonkey

United States

I

idris

United States

Cathy

Melbourne, Australia

Glenn K

Victoria, Canada

Ask Evans a question about this loan project, share news and photos of your own, or send a simple note of thanks or inspiration.

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...