Buy and sell of ladies cloths and shoes


Nairobi, Kenya

7% repaid




Member since

May 2015

On-time repayments

216 installments  •  12%

About Me

My names are John kagechu i was born and raised in central province limuru town in the outskirts of Nairobi.
Am a member of a family of six,three brothers and a sister,
I joined Manguo high school and got my Kenya certificate of secondary education after i tarmacked for two years but luckily my dad sold a piece of land and manage to pay my school fee.
After i joined moi university for a degree in education.
i would like to make sure my siblings gets a better education and achieve the best out of this hard financial crisis facing my family.
i love socializing reading novels and swimming.

My Business

I work as a assistant lab technician in the university where i am taking degree i get paid 22,000 Kenya shillings per month and use the money to finance part of my fee,
i save 5,000 ksh a month as i plan to set a business inside the campus in the net six months.
I would wish to be self employed before completion of my education next year.
I found the need to start a bussiness aiming to surplly labaratory eguipments to the same campus and diffrent schools around my location. However i droped this idea because i realised its seasonal and it takes time before one can get an order.
i then decided to go for sell of cloths inside the campus
To start this bussines i will need a capital of 30,000 kenya shillings, The amount will purchase two bales one will be a bale of shoes and the other bale will be cloths, A bale of shoes will cost 15,000 kenya shillings and clothes will cost 10,000.
I will be selling in the campus were i plan to lease a small shop,Being in the campus for four years i have considered clothing bussines due to how students wants to show off how smart they look.
This will allow me do both my current job and sell cloths durring free times
i will definately make double profits and as the december holiday is a approaching i expect great returns.
I will also continue with my daily job untill i raise my bussiness to a level that is stable.

Loan Proposal

If my loan is approved and disbursed i will top it to my savings of amount 130 USD, Make it 320 USD and use the amount to buy two bales one will be shoes and the other ladies cloth.
A bale of shoes is 170 USD and abale of ladies cloths is 140 USD, transportation 10 USD.
After seeking advice from cloth sellers and diffrent distributors doing research and realising the demand of cloths especially during this comming holiday seasons am quite sure that i will make double profits if i start this bussiness before the holiday.





Loan Info

Project Type

Classic Loan

Disbursed amount


Date disbursed

Dec 8, 2015

Repayment status


Projected term

45 months

Other loans



Legend, United States


Paul Graham

United States

Ask John a question about this project, share news and photos of your own, or send a simple note of thanks or inspiration.