Household supplies


Gekomu, Kenya

100% repaid




Member since

July 2014

On-time repayments

273 installments  •  65%

About Me

am a Kenyan aged 29, the first born in the family of seven. I have a
diploma in social work from a public institution. During my college days
i encountered difficulties in the payment of college fee and so in my
first year i decided to venture in the firewood selling business and by
doing so i was able to offset my school balances and continued with this
business till today. The business earnings helps me to pay for the
premise, my residential rent, my younger sisters' school fees and my
personal up-keep. I have since the start of 2017 introduced an iniative of me,my family members and friends visiting and giving back to the community some percentage of my earnings to kids in my local children homes.

My Business

am in firewood selling industry whereby i have done this business for
Four years now. I earn my regular incomes from the selling of firewood charcoal and energy saving jikos
to households and schools. There is a great demand for my product
because am a licensed business person, the working hours is 12 hours
giving me an advantage over my competitors and am situated where the first aglance of a premise is my shop. The reason why these products are in great demand is because most of the residents are a mix of middle class and below the poverty level, so this is what a majority can afford. The reason behind me doing this business is to provide for the locals the products and services the would otherwise be walking miles miles looking for and another reason is to enable me and my family have something on the table and finally growth and sustainability. My business is profitable because it is
easy to access and the quality of my firewood is superior than of my
competitors. The threats i face is heavy rainfall and transportation of
the firewood from interior places. My typical monthly costs include:rent
is 37dollars,stock is 185 dollars,sales is 303 and my profits are 272
dollars. The profits I make from the business I use them on making additional stocks to my current one,my personal upkeep,meeting my family needs,educating my younger sister and giving back to the community in the form of donating to the children s' home in my locality. Kindly
consider lending me this cash to fulfill my desired goal in life.

Loan Proposal

The money you will lend me will be used in the purchase of a cart.This cart will assist me to transport the firewood to my premise for selling. It will also be used deliver the firewood to those customers who shall have purchased the firewood from my shop. I will also use the money to pay a cart-pusher whom I will more often use to deliver my firewood to my customers. I will use the money also to expand my premise while paying for raw materials and man power from this cash. The remaining cash I will use it to add my stock.






Loan Info

Project Type

Classic Loan

Disbursed amount


Date disbursed

Aug 11, 2014

Repayment status

On Time

Projected term

3 months




catalonia is not:, Spain



Vence, France


Sarasota, Fl, United States



Republic of Korea


Rimouski, Canada



Duisburg, Germany

Ask Hesbon a question about this project, share news and photos of your own, or send a simple note of thanks or inspiration.



Amount repaid


Amount remaining


Date repaid

Nov 13, 2014


Fully repaid

Repayment History

Expected Payments Actual Payments
Aug 21, 2014 $10.17 Aug 21, 2014 $10.17
Aug 28, 2014 $0.00
Sep 4, 2014 $20.35 Sep 5, 2014 $20.35
Sep 11, 2014 $0.00
Sep 18, 2014 $0.00
Sep 25, 2014 $0.00
Oct 2, 2014 $2.33 Oct 2, 2014 $2.33
Oct 9, 2014 $2.33 Oct 9, 2014 $2.33
Oct 16, 2014 $2.33 Oct 16, 2014 $2.33
Oct 23, 2014 $2.33 Oct 23, 2014 $2.33
Oct 30, 2014 $2.33 Oct 30, 2014 $2.33
Nov 6, 2014 $4.65 Nov 6, 2014 $4.65
Nov 13, 2014 $5.08 Nov 13, 2014 $5.08